THE GIRL CHILD


Photo credit: colorfulandconnected.wordpress.com

Hello there!
Happy new month! Welcome to the last month in the first half of the year!
An awful lot has happened in these past five months. I think I have grown more in the past ten months than at any other time in my life. As I look back, I can’t help but thank God.
I was going through my old books, and I saw a jotter where I wrote poems when I was still in…was it JSS 3 or SSS 1? I read the poems and burst out laughing.
Every year, indeed, everyday of my life is dedicated to being a better person. As this year progresses, and as I pursue my dream of being a better person, a Bible verse keeps coming to my mind- “Do not despise these small beginnings…” (Zechariah 4:10 NLT).

So, yes, forget the things which are behind, and press on to the better things ahead,but do not despise your days of small beginnings as they are the foundation upon which your future is laid.
Here is one of the poems I wrote then. Don’t laugh too much. Enjoy!


Photo credit: soulreflectionz.com

That I am a girl child
Is not my fault
It can’t be changed
It is my lot

Slowly, my life changes
As I go from the diaper
To the sanitary pad
To the nursing brassiere
It can’t be changed
It is my lot

From the flat chest
To the tank top
To the brassiere
Oh my God,
I’m changing

The stares from boys
The whispered comments
The advances, the approaches
Oh God, what do I do?

‘You are beautiful,’
One says
‘Pay no attention to him,’
Another says
What can I do about it?

‘Marry me, you’ll never suffer,’
He says as he adjusts his agbada
‘Marry me, and we’ll work to be rich,’
Another says as he adjusts his threadbare shirt
So much men, oh!
Which do I choose?

Soon it becomes
‘Mum, here is my wife.’
Oh, how pleasurable it is
To be a woman
To experience the changes
From daughter, to girlfriend,
To mother, to grandmother
But always a female.

Yes! Had a good laugh at me, didn’t you? *winks* I laughed too. I don’t know why I kept saying “brassiere”!
Anyway, I hope you liked it. Tell me about your small beginnings, will you?

5 thoughts on “THE GIRL CHILD

Leave a Reply

