OF A PARTICULAR WOMAN…BEAUTIFUL FROM AFAR

You were beautiful
And I admired you
You did not seem to have much faults
But I did not think of you as perfect either

When I got closer
And got a really good look at you
I began to see blemishes
And I wondered if it was still you

Your long, lustrous hair
Does not seem that long anymore
Your cool, reserved personality
Appears to have been just a facade

Your supposedly seasoned speech
Has turned out to be painfully venomous
Your presumed humility
Has turned out to be self-righteous pride

I am disappointed
I must confess
Maybe not exactly in you
But perhaps in my high expectations

I expected more
More of what I thought I had glimpsed
More of that beauty, depth, and humility
But it turns out I expected too much

As I ponder
On what might have changed
I realise
That you were only beautiful from afar

One thought on “OF A PARTICULAR WOMAN…BEAUTIFUL FROM AFAR

Leave a Reply

