THE TOMBOY’S CONVERSION

Hi there! How have you been? It’s been a while.
I have been fine. My exams ended on the 28th of July, and I have been lazing around since. I have been watching movies on Dstv, reading up all the blog posts I missed from my fellow bloggers, and reading articles on different websites. I have also been reading ‘Roots’ by Alex Haley and ‘The Silver Lining’ by two time Olympic medallist Enefiok Udo-Obong. That’s why I have not been here.

Not much has been going on lately. Wait. That’s not quite right. Something has been going on: I made a major foray into the world of make up.

Yeah, that does not sound like much news, but for those who know me, it’s major news. This is because I have always been a tomboy, a die-hard one.

Compared to other girls my age, I have taken a long time before using makeup. I did not even use powder, basic as it was. I take after my mum, who uses no makeup- not even powder- but carries a handkerchief everywhere with her because she sweats a lot. In addition, she just does not fancy makeup. I used to joke that even if I used makeup, I would probably wipe it all off with my handkerchief. I used to lick my friends’ lip gloss in secondary school because of its nice smell and sweet taste. 🙂 The tale of my ‘tomboyhood’ is a long one, and I would not like to dump it all on you at once. I’ll tell it in subsequent posts.

Anyway, I had been watching some YouTube videos on makeup, but I was not too eager to start. It was pictures of Chioma Chukwuka Akpotha that I saw online in January that made me want to try make up.


Isn’t she lovely?

This holiday however, I asked my sister to give me a live tutorial and she did. She even took me to a place where I bought eye pencils.


My sister.

I’m only focused on eyebrows now, apart from improving my face. I’m not into all the powder, concealer and foundation affair yet. I have a pimply face, and I don’t want to compound it by coating it with powder.
Below are some pictures I took after drawing my brows.


Day one, when she drew my brows. We had not bought my pencils, and she used her own pencils, and concealer, which are for her skin tone. *feel my pimples* 😉




Day two. Again, feel my pimples. He he!




Day three.



Filter!


Sis!

Day four. Sis trimmed my brows and gave me bonanza- drew my brows too.

So far, it has been nice. I’ve been getting funny questions from people on my WhatsApp and BBM, but I’ve just been smiling in response- sending smiley emojis, I mean. What do you think about my brows?

I appreciate the amount of data you’ve exhausted by stopping by to view this post. Thank you for reading! More posts will be coming up soon. Have a lovely day.

10 thoughts on “THE TOMBOY’S CONVERSION

  1. Haha tomboy. I bet we’d get along i like tomboys 😉 I was gonna say you should check out “I’m in Nigeria” on my blog but looks like you already did. Looking forward to reading more from you 🙂

    Like

  2. I completely understand! It was and sometimes is such a struggle with applying make up if you misses that weird phase as a tween trying it on. My sister is younger than me and oh so fascinated. At her age, I was more likely to be hiking and sweating then applying make up or fixing my brows. Now that I’m a teeny tiny bit younger (because who wants to get old) I apply some when I want to be extra fabulous. To really wow and pop. Your brows look fabulous and it’s nice to know that us tomboys are not secluded in how we plan to creep out of our turtle shells. Even if it is to be glitter smeared on our faces.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

